Observe

First tournament of the season this morning. It’s been difficult to get to the club consistently, or practice on my own, or even work out regularly since I returned last month, so I’m expecting my results to be as uninspiring as they were before I took my leave in the spring.

Success today will not be measured by wins and losses, or my indicator, or my standing at the end of the tournament. Today is about observation — can  I see anything before it actually happens? Can I analyze what I see and make the correct decision in response? Can I execute that decision?

Tournaments are always a struggle between obsessing over results and learning. At the end of last season, I became too focused on results, allowed that to be the barometer for my success. This season I want to change that focus.

Leave a Reply

