Voices in a Tough Time

This is a difficult season for people suffering from depression. It’s dark when we rise, dark on the drive home, the weekends wet and gray. Winter seems to have begun ages ago, with no promise of relenting. There’s never a good time of year for depression, but times like these are worse than usual.

I’m actually having a better February than I’ve had in years past. Maybe it’s because of the fairly mild weather (only had to use the snow blower four times so far); maybe it’s the enthusiasm I feel about my writing; maybe my abstinence from alcohol in January has given me an advantage over my darker moods; maybe regular exercise has kept the endorphin flowing; maybe I’m giddy that one of my favorite professional sports teams has just won a championship (no, I can’t be that shallow… can I?… maybe I can). It’s probably a combination of all those elements, some of which I can control, others not so much. Whatever the reasons, I accept this bounty with gratitude, and will fight like hell to keep feeling this way.

For many people, communication can be a powerful tool in combating depression. In that spirit, I want to share posts from bloggers who write powerfully about this subject. I’ve shared posts from each of these blogs previously, and do so again because their work continues to deserve recognition:

  • Depression can manifest itself as an almost physical presence, and few other writers can convey this sensation more acutely than Megan at The Manic Years

  • lilypup’s blog provides an honest journal of an entire family suffering from emotional disorders. It can be a heart-wrenching read at times, but lilypup never asks for the reader’s sympathy — only their understanding.
  • Depression Comix never makes fun of depression, but does find space for humor in the lives of people who suffer from the disease

 

2 thoughts on “Voices in a Tough Time

  1. Yes I too believe that connecting with folk who have similar issues is very important. I also believe it is helpful to keep your blogging sphere open so that even ones not similarly effected can learn, keep in touch, and may offer a different sort of understanding and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

