The Best De-Fence

After sharing a view that included the front of my shed yesterday, thought I’d show you the back today.

Skunks, raccoons, and other varmints love to nest under structures without basements, so as soon as the shed was built I installed a chicken wire fence as protection. Used a staple gun to attach it to the base, then extended it out a couple feet and secured it to the ground with landscape staples. Haven’t had any unwelcome visitors in all the years since. Over the summer I saw a break in the fence, so this fall I did some mending. Had some snow the past few days, so this morning I went out to the back and checked for tracks. Didn’t see any (the spots on the left were caused by dripping from the roof), so it appears I’m safe for another season.

The best defense is usually a good offense, but sometimes all you need is de-fence.

Leave a Reply

