One Down, One and Some to go

Finished revising the sixth chapter of Gray Metal Faces yesterday. Trimmed a couple thousand words from the first draft, and tightened up the chronology, which were my two primary objectives. Also like the work I did yesterday for the final scene.

The revision of chapter seven, March, begins later today, and should be completed before the end of the long Thanksgiving weekend here in the United States. If that effort moves the word count of the first draft by a couple grand in either direction, that will leave me somewhere between five and nine thousand words short of the NaNoWriMo goal of 50K, with only a handful of days remaining in November.

And of course I have a plan. Soon as I put a bow on chapter seven, I’ll start the first draft of chapter eight (there will be a total of nine chapters in the novel). It won’t be finished by November 30, but I will write enough to meet the NaNoWriMo goal. And I’ll continue with that draft, until I’m finished sometime in December.

If I use one of the NaNoWriMo camps to draft the ninth chapter, could I have a complete revision of the entire novel at the end of NaNoWriMo in 2017? And if that does happen, will a giant tidal wave pummel me into a gaping chasm opened on the earth as I’m struck by lightning?

Leave a Reply

