Happy Dance!


Completed my July CampNaNoWriMo project yesterday. The goal was a complete revision of the Chapter 5 draft by the end of the month, with an emphasis on reducing that draft’s 47K word count down to 20-24K, making it not only more manageable but also in line with the earlier chapter revisions. Made it on time, and while the revision weighs in a couple thousand words over budget, I’m encouraged at the thought of having reduced the draft by over 45%, without sacrificing any of the major themes I had explored when composing the initial draft.

Is Chapter 5 in its final form? Hardly. Am I satisfied with its current state? Don’t think that will ever happen, with any of my projects. But happy with what I’ve accomplished this past month? Hey Snoopy, tell the people a story.

Feel a need to step away from Gray Metal Faces for a while, work up some energy and enthusiasm for NaNoWriMo this November, when I’ll revise chapters six and seven. Going to do a lot of reblogging the next few weeks, and indulge in some Bad Poetry (you’ve been warned). Might be a few small fiction projects along the way as well. Don’t know where I’m going, but I do know that I’m going to enjoy this ride.

One thought on “Happy Dance!

Leave a Reply

