A Momentary Break

I’ve learned a lot about myself and this novel since I began the latest round of revisions on November 1. In no particular order, those lessons include:

  • Each chapter of the novel will be approximately 20K words
  • To post close to 1700 words a day (the average required to meet the NaNoWriMo goal of 50K words in November), I need to start with a decent rough draft of at least half that length, and a good three hours of writing
  • The only way I can devote three hours a day to writing is to set aside other obligations in my life, and I’m not willing to make that sacrifice. But with next week being the start of a two-week vacation, I have an opportunity
  • Having a revised outline for the first two chapters significantly helped; not having a revised outline for chapter three lead to problems. Hadn’t expected to end this round of revision with the third chapter being the weakest — but there it is.

After 45 days and over 60K words, and having reached the end of my revision of the third chapter, I’m taking a short break from the novel. Short, as in, I’ll start on the chapter four revision next Monday, with a goal of finishing by the end of the year. Not sure what I’ll write about until then (not posting something every day is, of course, no longer an option for me). Let’s just see what strikes me during my lunch break tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

