CWN 013: Inspiration from the Art World

Vincent_van_Gogh_-_The_Bedroom

Today’s assignment from The Creative Writer’s Notebook is to write a short piece inspired by a work of art. I therefore take my cue for this post from Van Gogh’s “Bedroom in Arles.”

The Colors of My Mind

My room has space for many guests.
They arrive, sit. Chat.
I offer them drink, a little food.
The bed is my seat.

Nobody says anything about the windows,
How the thick green glass blocks the sunlight.
They know it’s what I prefer.

Leave a Reply

