Chapter 6 – February 10H

“This is cool.” Rex grabbed the epee by its thin blade again, swiveled the weapon until the bellguard pointed at Rune. “So you’re switching to epee?”

Rune had picked up the slender bag from the floor of the basement, took the weapon from his tall thin friend, began wrestling it back into the bag. “Nah, got my hands full with foil as it is.” Closed the zipper, extended the bag in his right hand. “Figured I’d give it to someone who could use it.”

“No.” But Rex couldn’t hide the envy from his face. “You can’t. Your aunt, she gave it to you — ”

“When she gave it to me, she called it a sword.” Rune laughed, raised the bag up to Rex’s eyes. “I tried explaining to her about the three weapons — deer in headlights. So I told her that I didn’t think I could use it, would it be OK if I gave it to someone who would, and she was like, sure, it’s yours now, do what you want.” He stepped forward, the bag touching Rex’s chest. “And what I want, is to give this to the only epeeist on our team.”

Rex raised his hands, lifted the bag from the bottom gently but securely, like its contents were made of glass. His eyes scanned over the surface, stopping at the right corner. “That’s the patch for En Garde!” With his left hand he twirled the bag, the patch now facing Rune.

Rune’s eyes widened. “Yeah.” He shook his head. “I mean, I know, I saw that too.”

“Must have been one of Dr. Schmidt’s students.” His arms looked like pipe cleaners even under his jacket. “Bet she got fed up with him. Her parents too. Didn’t want to deal with him no more, giving it away at a yard sale seemed better than trying to sell it through his school.”

Leave a Reply

