A Challenging Month

I’ve enjoyed participating in BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo event in November, using their prompts as well as those from The Daily Post to explore ideas (some old, some new) for my novel. And while improving my blog’s statistics has never been my primary goal, traffic has definitely increased this past month, making for a gratifying secondary effect.

I will admit to one visible failure. I had wanted to give as much as receive this past month, by reading and commenting more on other bloggers’ work. Started off well, but couldn’t maintain any momentum; call that a work in progress.

Seems like the time to move on to a new project. This will be another attempt to develop background material for the novel, and it’s something I’ve thought about for quite a while — treating the fictional town of my novel, Bark Bay, as a separate character, and show it interacting with each of my central characters. I call these “Town Tales,” and if my son’s soccer schedule works in my favor, I should have the first post in this experiment submitted tonight.

Leave a Reply

