Strengths (Dark Safari K)

Cyrus laughed derisively, and glanced away quickly before leaning back in his chair and staring back. “This isn’t about fear. It’s about helping my son understand the difference between garbage and real works of art. Butch, he’s not the sharpest tool in the shed, I’m sure you’ve noticed.”

Dan blinked. “We all have our strengths.”

The chair under Cyrus skrinched over the floor as he leaned forward. “Well, judgment is not one of Butch’s strengths. He’s so trusting, he’ll ready anything one of his friends gives him, even if he knows he shouldn’t. Like these comic books — I’ve talked to him already, he knows how I feel, but I can’t be with him every minute of every day.” He pointed a finger across the table at Dan. “That’s why I need people like you to speak up when you see a problem.”

“Of course!” Dan raised the palm of his hand in Cyrus’ direction. “I take my responsibility as a teacher, as coach of the fencing club, very seriously. If one of my students were to hurt another student, the fault would be entirely mine.”

Cyrus folded his arms across his chest, leaned forward further. “So does that mean Butch won’t be reading any more comic books at your fencing practices?”

Dan paused, not out of uncertainty but rather from a determination to aim his gaze squarely on the face of The Reverend Cyrus Goodman. “No. That’s not what I mean, at all.”

Leave a Reply

